Hallam s War

Near the corner of the square, a young officer of the Hampton Legion—one polished boot braced against the fountain wall—stood talking to two laughing girls. They did not notice Hugh as he walked by, and he had almost reached the edge of ...

Hallam s War

An acclaimed, sweeping historical novel set during the Civil War, with one steadfast couple at its core. It is 1859, and Hugh and Serena Hallam have left Charleston society behind to build a new life for themselves and their three children in the near-wilderness of West Tennessee. War may loom on the horizon, but life at their farm, Palmyra, is good, both for their family and-so they convince themselves- their slaves. Young and idealistic, torn between their ambivalence toward slavery and their love of the land, they keep hope that goodwill might yet prevail against the growing hostility dividing the two Americas. But soon, events will move the Hallams' entire world toward destruction, sweeping Hugh into battle while stranding Serena at a besieged Palmyra. Their values will be tested on the battlefield and at home and in the end only their passionate and enduring love for one another will sustain them as they face the war that transforms a nation.

More Books:

Spinners Lake
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Anna Jacobs
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-01-10 - Publisher: Hachette UK

**The final installment in the beautifully heartwarming Gibson Family series, perfect for fans of 'Call the Midwife', Dilly Court and Catherine Cookson** Lancashire, 1860. In the mill town of Bilsden, Annie Hallam's husband Frederick is dying. On top of that, a spurned suitor of her sister Joanie is determined to
City of Sheffield (Part 1 of 3)
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Anna Jacobs
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: PediaPress

Books about City of Sheffield (Part 1 of 3)
Sheffield
Language: en
Pages: 324
Authors: Ruth Harman, John Minnis, Roger H. Harper
Categories: Travel
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004-01-01 - Publisher: Yale University Press

Sheffield has been synonymous with steelmaking since the eighteenth century and with cutlery for centuries before that. But while it has an extraordinary variety of industrial buildings connected to its metal trades, there is another side to what is England's least known big city. Set amidst magnificent scenery, it has
Spaced Out
Language: en
Pages: 136
Authors: Nicola Garmory, Rachel Tennant
Categories: Architecture
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-08-11 - Publisher: Routledge

This beautifully illustrated guide celebrates some of the most significant award winning public spaces in major cities in the UK and Ireland over the last ten years. Dealing with a range of contemporary and innovating designed landscapes from urban spaces to public parks, this book focuses on those that have
The Routledge Research Companion to Planning and Culture
Language: en
Pages: 480
Authors: Deborah Stevenson
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-03-23 - Publisher: Routledge

It has become increasingly evident that effective planning for sustainable communities, environments and economies pivots on the ability of planners to see the possibilities for culture in comprehensive social, historical and environmental terms and to more fully engage with the cultural practices, processes and theorisation that comprise a social formation.