The True Story of Hansel and Gretel

Louise Murphy’s haunting novel of journey and survival, of redemption and memory, powerfully depicts how war is experienced by families and especially by children.

The True Story of Hansel and Gretel

A poignant and suspenseful retelling of a classic fairy tale set in a war-torn world, for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, We Were the Lucky Ones, and Lilac Girls In the last months of the Nazi occupation of Poland, two children are left by their father and stepmother to find safety in a dense forest. Because their real names will reveal their Jewishness, they are renamed “Hansel” and “Gretel.” They wander in the woods until they are taken in by Magda, an eccentric and stubborn old woman called a “witch” by the nearby villagers. Magda is determined to save them, even as a German officer arrives in the village with his own plans for the children. Louise Murphy’s haunting novel of journey and survival, of redemption and memory, powerfully depicts how war is experienced by families and especially by children.

More Books:

The True Story of Hansel and Gretel
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Louise Murphy
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003-07-29 - Publisher: Penguin

A poignant and suspenseful retelling of a classic fairy tale set in a war-torn world, for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, We Were the Lucky Ones, and Lilac Girls In the last months of the Nazi occupation of Poland, two children are left by their father and stepmother to
Hansel and Gretel
Language: en
Pages: 16
Authors: Dori Butler
Categories: Children's plays
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-01-01 - Publisher: Benchmark Education Company

Perform this script about what really happened between Hansel and Gretel and Esmerelda the witch.
The (Almost) Totally True Story of Hansel and Gretel
Language: en
Pages: 58
Authors: Steph Deferie
Categories: Drama
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013 - Publisher:

Pity poor Streptococcus - it should be a piece of cake for a fairy godmother to tell the story of Snow White but her wand is bent and things aren't going quite as they should. Then, to make things worse, she's interrupted by a couple of English policemen who are
The True Story of Hansel and Gretel
Language: en
Pages: 19
Authors: Lauren Simpson, Weber State Univeristy. Bachelor of Integrated Studies
Categories: Children's theater
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013 - Publisher:

Books about The True Story of Hansel and Gretel
The Witch's Way
Language: en
Pages: 36
Authors: Mrs McAuley's 2nd Grade Class
Categories: Fairy tales
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-02 - Publisher: AuthorHouse

A unique story about how a witch would tell Hansel and Gretel, straight from the ingenious minds of 2nd grade children.