While the City Slept

Culminating in Kalebu's dangerous slide toward violence--observed by family members, police, mental health workers, lawyers, and judges, but stopped by no one--While the City Slept is the story of a crime of opportunity and of the string of ...

While the City Slept

"Binged Making a Murderer? Try . . . [this] riveting portrait of a tragic, preventable crime." --Entertainment Weekly Finalist for the Edgar Award for Best Fact Crime Finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize A Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter's gripping account of one young man's path to murder--and a wake-up call for mental health care in America On a summer night in 2009, three lives intersected in one American neighborhood. Two people newly in love--Teresa Butz and Jennifer Hopper, who spent many years trying to find themselves and who eventually found each other--and a young man on a dangerous psychological descent: Isaiah Kalebu, age twenty-three, the son of a distant, authoritarian father and a mother with a family history of mental illness. All three paths forever altered by a violent crime, all three stories a wake-up call to the system that failed to see the signs. In this riveting, probing, compassionate account of a murder in Seattle, Eli Sanders, who won a Pulitzer Prize for his newspaper coverage of the crime, offers a deeply reported portrait in microcosm of the state of mental health care in this country--as well as an inspiring story of love and forgiveness. Culminating in Kalebu's dangerous slide toward violence--observed by family members, police, mental health workers, lawyers, and judges, but stopped by no one--While the City Slept is the story of a crime of opportunity and of the string of missed opportunities that made it possible. It shows what can happen when a disturbed member of society repeatedly falls through the cracks, and in the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace, is an indelible, human-level story, brilliantly told, with the potential to inspire social change.

More Books:

While the City Slept
Language: en
Pages: 316
Authors: Eli Sanders
Categories: PSYCHOLOGY
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016 - Publisher:

"Binged Making a Murderer? Try . . . [this] riveting portrait of a tragic, preventable crime." --Entertainment Weekly Finalist for the Edgar Award for Best Fact Crime Finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize A Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter's gripping account of one young man's path to murder--and a wake-up call
Insight Guides City Guide Seattle
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Insight Guides
Categories: Travel
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-11-01 - Publisher: Rough Guides UK

All you need to inspire every step of your trip. An in-depth book, now with free app and eBook. From deciding when to go, to choosing what to see when youarrive, this Insight Guides book is allyou need to plan your trip and experience the best of Seattle, with in-depthinsider
While the City Slept
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Eli Sanders
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-02-02 - Publisher: Penguin

“Binged Making a Murderer? Try . . . [this] riveting portrait of a tragic, preventable crime.” —Entertainment Weekly Finalist for the Edgar Award for Best Fact Crime Finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize A Pulitzer Prize–winning reporter’s gripping account of one young man’s path to murder—and a wake-up call
The Vanishing Middle Class, new epilogue
Language: en
Pages: 286
Authors: Peter Temin
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-03-09 - Publisher: MIT Press

Why the United States has developed an economy divided between rich and poor and how racism helped bring this about. The United States is becoming a nation of rich and poor, with few families in the middle. In this book, MIT economist Peter Temin offers an illuminating way to look
While the City Slept
Language: en
Pages: 35
Authors: Instaread
Categories: True Crime
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-03-11 - Publisher: Instaread

While the City Slept by Eli Sanders | Summary & Analysis Preview: While the City Slept by Eli Sanders is a journalistic work portraying the series of events that led up to a sexual assault and homicide in an outlying neighborhood of Seattle, Washington. The victims were Teresa Butz and